Janet Jackson Remix Roundup

I’ve been waiting a long time to do this… Janet Jackson is timeless and has always been a fixture in remix culture.  Because her voice and her melodies sound perfect over any beat, her music so exquisitely produced, Janet evolves with us no matter where we go.  So, here we are…  Okayfuture’s inaugural Janet Jackson Remix Round-Up, letting you in on our Top 10 + 1 favorite electronic remixes of one of the best-selling, record breaking, iconic artists in the history of contemporary music.

1. Janet Jackson – Someone To Call My Lover (Giraffage Remix)

San Franciscan producer Giraffage really turned this quintessential pop track around with slowed, mellow vocals and reworked tempo, but maintaining that fresh electronic groove, full of trapstetic bass, claps and, of course, epic drops.  A little iffy on that cover art though.  Listen and cop the free download here.

2. Any Time, Any Place – Janet Jackson (starRo remix)

In the thunderin’ rain… this is exactly what I’d want to be listening to.  Soulection affiliate and Los-Angeles based Shinya Mizoguchi a/k/a starRo does it right with this gorgeous, multi-layered, future R&B remix of the ultimate, lover’s jam “Any Time, Any Place.” Download it here.

3. Kastle – Work It Out

They said it wouldn’t last.  We had to prove them wrong.  House music is still alive, and Bay Area’s Kastle‘s “Work It Out,” a beautifully reworked house version of “Love Will Never Do (Without You)” is a proper example of house music re-imagined for the future.  His arrangement of this track, with garage and future bass influences, is both pleasantly unexpected and innovative.  Check it out.

4. Janet Jackson – Rock With U (FS Green Rework)

Shout out to Amsterdamn producer FS Green for his recent endeavors into the world of Jersey club, but now let’s take a step back and appreciate his sexy, sorta robotically slowed rework of Janet’s “Rock With U.”  Her vocals sound soooo lovely and sweet, and the glittery chops in the second half of the track are soooo smooth.  Enjoy it here.

5. Durkin – go.na.be

#DREAMCLUB forever indeed.  We’re huge fans of Bostonian Durkin‘s sparkly, futuristic bass approach to club music, and equally huge fans of his shimmery, remake of “What’s It Gonna Be” featuring Busta Rhymes.  Listen and download it here.

6. Moon Boots – Sugar

If you’re a DJ and this track doesn’t make it into your set at least one a week, it’s time to re-evaluate.  French ExpressMoon Boots is the master of bouncy synth-heavy dance tunes, and this refix of “If” is summer groove and funky, retro rhythms divine.  Pay attention!

7. Janet Jackson – If (Kaytranada Remix)

While we’re on the subject of our favorite remixes of “If,” we’re definitely not going to leave out Kaytranada‘s most recognized and celebrated remix, which arguably put the Montréal producer on the radar.  That bumpin’ bassline, the infectious claps and overall bouncin’ nu-disco vibe… had us at hello.  Rarely have we ever seen a sample done oh so right.

8. MNEK – That’s The Way Love Goes (Janet Jackson Refix)

So, this is a cover – not a remix, but we are so stoked on artists who look to songs that nobody else dares to touch.  Yes, Janet’s voice is unmatched, but give it up to 18-year-old London singer/producer MNEK for giving us a lil’ male perspective with his smashing, electro-soul remake of “That’s The Way Love Goes.”

9. Janet Jackson (Feat. Nelly) – Call On Me (Disclosure Bootleg)

If you’ve been living under a rock for the past year, you may have missed one of a handful of Disclosure appearances on Boiler Room, including a DJ set they did last November where they unleashed this unreleased bootleg of “Call On Me,” featuring Nelly.  Lucky for us and the magic of technology, we’ve got a high quality rip!  Disclosure’s signature 4/4 house sound transforms this track into dancefloor banger.  Let us pray for an official release.

10. Hudson Mohawke – Pleasure (Pleasure Principle)

Last, but definitely not least, we have Hudson Mohawke’s 2011 rare, vinyl-only release of his remake of Damita Jo’s “Pleasure Principle.”  A few months ago, in light of performing at a 3-day music festival in the UK called the Pleasure Principle Weekender, Hud Mo gifted his fans with the free release of a digital version of the coveted track.  Enjoy!

11. Eprom – If

We had to make an edit to incude this bubbly, reverb infused, deep bass remix of “If” from Eprom who’s Kendrick Lamaar “M.A.A.D. City” remix is still an office favorite. Check it out and download the track compliments of the man himself right here.


Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function mysql_close() in /nas/content/live/okayfuture/wp-content/themes/okayempire/footer.php:137 Stack trace: #0 /nas/content/live/okayfuture/wp-includes/template.php(688): require_once() #1 /nas/content/live/okayfuture/wp-includes/template.php(647): load_template('/nas/content/li...', true) #2 /nas/content/live/okayfuture/wp-includes/general-template.php(76): locate_template(Array, true) #3 /nas/content/live/okayfuture/wp-content/themes/okayempire/single.php(121): get_footer() #4 /nas/content/live/okayfuture/wp-includes/template-loader.php(74): include('/nas/content/li...') #5 /nas/content/live/okayfuture/wp-blog-header.php(19): require_once('/nas/content/li...') #6 /nas/content/live/okayfuture/index.php(17): require('/nas/content/li...') #7 {main} thrown in /nas/content/live/okayfuture/wp-content/themes/okayempire/footer.php on line 137